Healing

I look at my body and see the scars slowly fading. Each scar represents a painful memory yet a lesson learned.

The one on my knee taught me not to run away; Run from things that made me afraid, that I can’t keep running away forever and I need to take it face on.

The scald taught me not to teach things that are too hot or I’ll get burned. Burnt by something so bright that I can’t possibly know until it was too late.

The bruise on my fists taught me that I should think rationally. I need to stop and breathe and think things over before I could hurt myself.

Yet the most significant one, was the one that you left—the scar that you left in my heart. I realized I shouldn’t have fallen that easy with words and petty lies. I let you in when I said I would never would. But hey, who could blame me? With that hazel eyes and tantalizing smile of yours, I’m sure everyone would fall. But thank you for cutting me the deepest and thank you for telling me I deserve better because a person who couldn’t see that I think they were already the best doesn’t truly deserve me.

It was never easy but I moved on. I am healing and whoever is reading this, I hope you are happy.

My response to : Scars

One thought on “Healing

Leave a Reply

