The Other Way

Three months ago. We came to a crossroad. You choose to walk the other way and left me on the other side.

I don’t hate you for walking the other way. And it surely wasn’t you, leaving me alone; because being alone didn’t terrify me. It was actually the fact that you gave up on us when you said you never would—again.

But I thank you because of you, I learned to walk alone. I learned to live with myself. I learn to love myself when I thought no one would. Thank you for walking out of my life before I destroy myself any further for you. And lastly, thank you for teaching me, what I want.

And it certainly wasn’t you.

In response to daily prompt: Crossroads

Leave a Reply

