Promise Me

Promise me you’ll think of me during sunny days and remember the happiness that we felt when we’re together for the first time; when we found our way back into each other’s arms; the first time that we kissed; and everything good in between.

If it’s one of those gloomy grey days remember the way we fought about the smallest things; the day when we had out very first big fight and the consecutive days that we just keep in fighting. All the petty jealousies and my insecurities; the way we let our pride tear us apart.

And promise me, when it rains you’ll think of me. The way I cried my heart out when we broke up for the first time. The way we cried when we thought we’re gonna be torn apart by my mother. The way I cried when you told me you’re not sure if you still love me.

But as the night approaches and the stars appear, remember our deep conversations; the deepest and darkest things that we’ve shared to each other; the way we argued about life and respecting each other’s opinion in the end; the way we found light in each other’s darkness; the first time that we walked together under the starry deep blue sky.

And as you sleep, forget about me and move on. Because all I am is a memory. A memory of what we were—of what we could have been.

One thought on “Promise Me

Leave a Reply

